60 years of the Elysée Treaty: now we need a friendship treaty for Europe!

60 years of the Elysée Treaty: now we need a friendship treaty for Europe!

Jan 20, 2023, 5:07:05 PM UTC
Volt France proposes to reinvent the Elysée Treaty with a new multilateral Aachen Treaty as an accelerator of European integration
Volt France - Traité d'Aix-en-Chappelle

> The Elysée Treaty between France and Germany will celebrate its 60th anniversary on Sunday 22 January.

> Volt France proposes to reinvent the Elysée Treaty with a new multilateral Aachen Treaty as an accelerator of European integration

> Volt France presents a white paper with three treaty pillars to advance the European project.

Paris, 20th of January 2023 

The Elysée Treaty between France and Germany will celebrate its 60th anniversary on Sunday, the 22nd of January. In 1963, the two countries promised to strengthen their cooperation in foreign and security policy and to promote cultural exchange.

After the reaffirmation by the Treaty of Aachen in 2019, we nevertheless see the importance, in addition to the Franco-German friendship, of bringing all European states closer together. Volt France and Volt Germany are therefore presenting a joint proposal for a new European edition of the Élysée treaty.

Germany and France are important driving forces for Europe, but the current crises can only be solved by all EU member states. Sven Franck, co-president of Volt France, says: "In 1963, it was important to create links between the citizens on both sides of the Rhine, and the Elysée Treaty did that. In 2023, it is essential to extend these links to all 27 countries of the European Union".

Rebekka Müller, co-president of Volt Germany, emphasises the importance of a stable Franco-German relationship: "The challenges we face - the war in Europe, the climate crisis, social instability - require solutions that cross borders. A strong Franco-German relationship is essential to advance European integration for future generations!"

These three pillars, must provide the framework for European integration:

1) European understanding. A greater presence of Europe in schools, in the media as well as European events allow young people to expand their networks and learn more from each other.

2) Building bridges. While town twinning already exists in many places, the system can be extended across Europe. Travel opportunities such as Interrail make cultural exchange not only more accessible, but also more attractive.

3) A common security policy. The current parallel crises in Europe show how essential it is to find common solutions. European-wide crisis management and military cooperation ensure faster and more effective responses to financial crises, pandemics or wars.

You can download the complete white paper "A reinvented Élysée treaty for European integration" her or on our website.

About Volt 

As the first truly pan-European party, Volt is committed to reforming the European Union and responding to today's challenges in a coordinated way at European level. Volt's vision: a progressive Europe with an inclusive society, a climate-friendly economy, an adaptable education system and self-determined digitalisation.

Volt is convinced that only the democratic participation of all European citizens will prepare us for a sustainable, economically strong and socially just future. This is why Volt acts at all levels - from local to European, as a movement and as a party. The movement gives everyone a voice and the opportunity to engage politically from within society. Today, Volt is present all over Europe: thousands of people of all ages and professions are involved in 30 European countries with teams in hundreds of cities.

For interview requests or further information, please contact us at the following address :

Contact

Zoé Gadeyne - Co-Responsable Communication

Mail : zoe.gadeyne@volteuropa.org

Sven Franck - Co-President de Volt France

Mail : sven.franck@volteuropa.org   

Site web | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Updated on January 20th, 2023 Photo by the Èlysée.

60 ans du traité de l'Élysée : il faut maintenant un traité d'amitié pour l'Europe !

60 ans du traité de l'Élysée : il faut maintenant un traité d'amitié pour l'Europe !

20 janv. 2023, 17:07:05 UTC
Volt France propose de réinventer le traité de l'Élysée avec un nouveau traité d'Aix-la-Chapelle multilatéral comme accélérateur du projet européen
Volt France - Traité d'Aix-en-Chappelle

> Le traité de l'Élysée entre la France et l'Allemagne fêtera son 60e anniversaire le dimanche 22 janvier.

> Volt France propose de réinventer le traité de l'Élysée avec un nouveau traité d'Aix-la-Chapelle multilatéral comme accélérateur de l'intégration européenne

> Volt France présente un livre blanc avec trois pilliers pour avancer le projet européen.

Paris, le 20 janvier 2023 

Le traité de l'Élysée entre la France et l'Allemagne fêtera son 60e anniversaire le dimanche 22 janvier. En 1963, les deux pays se sont fait la promesse  de renforcer leur coopération en matière de politique étrangère et de sécurité et de promouvoir l'échange culturel.

Après la réaffirmation par le traité d'Aix-la-Chapelle en 2019, nous constatons néanmoins l'importance, outre celle de l'amitié franco-allemande, du rapprochement de tous les États européens. Volt France et Volt Allemagne présentent ainsi une proposition commune pour une nouvelle édition européenne du Traité de l'Élysée.

L'Allemagne et la France sont des moteurs importants pour l'Europe, mais les crises actuelles ne peuvent être résolues que par l'ensemble des États membres de l'Union Européenne. Sven Franck, co-président de Volt France, déclare à ce sujet : "En 1963, il était primordial de créer des liens entre les citoyens des deux côtés du Rhin, et le traité de l'Élysée l'a fait. En 2023, il est primordial d'étendre ces liens à l'ensemble des 27 pays de l'Union européenne.

Rebekka Müller, co-présidente de Volt Allemagne, souligne l'importance d'une relation franco-allemande stable : "Les défis auxquels nous sommes confrontés - la guerre en Europe, la crise climatique, l'instabilité sociale - nécessitent des solutions qui dépassent les frontières. Une relation franco-allemande forte est essentielle pour faire progresser l'intégration européenne pour les générations futures !"

Ces trois piliers, doivent fournir le cadre de l'intégration européenne :

1) Compréhension européenne. Une plus grande présence de l'Europe dans les écoles, dans les médias ainsi que des événements européens permettent aux jeunes d'étendre leurs réseaux et d’en apprendre davantage les uns des autres.

2) Créer des ponts. Alors que les jumelages de villes existent déjà dans de nombreux endroits, le système peut être étendu à toute l'Europe. Les possibilités de voyage comme Interrail rendent les échanges culturels non seulement plus accessibles, mais aussi plus attrayants.

3) Une politique de sécurité commune. Les crises actuelles qui surviennent en parallèle en Europe montrent à quel point il est indispensable de trouver des solutions communes. Une gestion de crise et une coopération militaire à l'échelle européenne garantissent des réponses plus rapides et plus efficaces aux crises financières, aux pandémies ou aux guerres.

Vous trouverez le livre blanc complet "Un traité de l'Élysée pour l'Europe" dans notre site Internet ou ici

A propos de Volt 

En tant que premier véritable parti paneuropéen, Volt s'engage à réformer l'Union européenne et à répondre aux défis de nos jours de manière coordonnée au niveau européen. La vision de Volt : une Europe progressiste avec une société inclusive, une économie qui protège le climat, un système éducatif adaptable et une numérisation autodéterminée.

Volt est convaincu que seule une participation démocratique de tous les citoyens et toutes les citoyennes européens nous préparera à un avenir durable, économiquement fort et socialement juste. Voilà pourquoi Volt agit à tous les niveaux - du local à l'européen, en tant que mouvement et parti. Le mouvement donne à toutes et à tous une voix et la possibilité de s'engager politiquement à partir de la société. Aujourd'hui, Volt est présent dans toute l'Europe : des milliers de personnes de tous âges et de toutes professions s'engagent dans 30 pays européens avec des équipes dans des centaines de villes.

Pour toute demande d'interview ou d'information complémentaire, veuillez nous contacter à l'adresse suivante :

Contact

Zoé Gadeyne - Co-Responsable Communication

Mail : zoe.gadeyne@volteuropa.org

Sven Franck - Co-Président de Volt France

Mail : sven.franck@volteuropa.org   

Site web | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Mis à jour le 20 janvier 2023, Photo par l'Èlysée.